L’amour for french onion soup

24e0fbf028677cf6a1432a5abfc5239c

Ah Pariiiissss (try to read this in a french accent, that’s how am saying it) ๐Ÿ™‚

Last week I was on my honeymoon in Paris and before i got there i was like “yeah paris .. Want to know what all the fuss is about” . Well i feel in love with it in minutes.

The culture,the history, the buildings and THE FOOD (and many other things)! mostly onion soup! Such simple dish rite!? So delicious tho! ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course i have tried it before but having it in a restaurant in paris it gives it a je ne sais quoi taste to it ๐Ÿ™‚

P63382612080903_5

So when I comeback home I decided to try and make it.So here’s how i’ve made it:

I used

  • 1 kg of onion (white or red)
  • 50g of butter
  • 1 table sp olive oil
  • 1 table sp sugar
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 2 table sps plain flour
  • 250ml white wine
  • 1.3 l strong beef stock
  • slices of french bread
  • 140g of Gruyere cheese

 

First i’ve melted the butter with the olive oil in a pan.

Then added the onions thinly sliced and let it fry with the lid for about 10 minutes give or take.

Then added the sugar and let it cook until the onions caramelized stirring here and there. This took about 20 minutes.

Just before the onions were ready I added the garlic and then the flour and stir it well.

Gradually added the wine and the stock after. This with the heat up a bit.

Then let it cook for about 20 minutes.

I’ve toasted the slices of bread in the toaster then put them on top of the soup (already in bowls) , covered it with cheese (loads for me ,I love cheese) and took them to the oven grill to melt.

And voila!!!ย  ย  So simple rite?!

Absolutely love this soup , think I could eat it everyday ๐Ÿ™‚

I found this video were this funny french guy shows you how to make it .

http://www.jamieoliver.com/videos/classic-french-onion-soup-french-guy-cooking/#QmZIdcSlJzoR2A3o.97

If you try it I hope you love it as much as i do !

Love M

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “L’amour for french onion soup

  1. weebluemixer says:

    I’ve never been to Paris but would love to go, so many sights to see and so much food to try. This onion seems looks yummy. I’ve never made it before, but I think i’ll give this a go. I love that you’ve paired this with bread and Gruyere cheese. I bet when you dip the cheesy bread into the soup it tastes amazing when the cheese melts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

