Scent from home

IMG_4712

Sometimes I miss my country.. Not always tho.. But the most I miss is the food !There is no place on earth that has better food than Portugal!It just isn’t ! 🙂

Now because I was in one of those days when I miss my roots I’ve looked for something to bake.. Something simple.. And here it is !

Pao de leite (sweet bread),it is very easily made and the little ones LOVE IT!

What you will need:

  • 550g plain flour
  • 90g sugar
  • 50g powder milk
  • 20g yeast (dissolved in little water)
  • 7g salt
  • 1 egg (plus one to coat)
  • 50g melted butter
  • 300ml milk

How to:

  • Mix flour,sugar,powder milk,yeast,salt in a bowl,mix
  • Add the egg and butter,mix again
  • And finally add the milk
  • Mix it all in a mixer for 15 minutes(i don’t have a mixer  so hands it is)
  • Let it rise to double the size (about 45 minutes)
  • Sprinkle the work surface with flour(so it dosnt stick)
  • Divide in about 12 portions

IMG_4679 (1)

  • Make little rolls
  • Now coat the rolls with the extra egg and let it rise again to double size
  • Bake for 15 minutes (give or take) at 180 degrees (on a fan assisted oven)

And voila! Esta pronto! Is ready! The smell just takes me back home when i was little and my nana would bake cakes and breads for us!

Oh I should mention these are now my own pictures 😁! Ok they are not super good but am quite proud of them giving I am just a beginner in photography !

Enjoy these sweet little breads with cheese and/or ham or even just with butter (my favourite) !

Happy Easter to you all!

 

Love M

 

 

5 thoughts on “Scent from home

  1. mominzurich says:

    Oh this sounds delicious. I would love to hear your travel recommedations for going to Portugal with children. Sweet bread fresh out of the oven sounds amazing. I’ll have to try this. When I miss home it usually has something to do with food as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

