Cameraless!

giphy

I feel so naked without a camera 😭

When I started my photography course my lovely friend let me use Β her camera so I could experiement and practice while I was learning.She is just lovely and I am forever grateful!

But last month she needed her camera back and here I am cameraless 😭!It was very kind of her to let me use it for so long but now I need to get my own camera and I am not quite sure what to get! Actually I think Santa realized I’ve been an excellent girl this year and I reckon he is getting me one, but he knows close to nothing about cameras and I need to give him some help πŸ˜‰

In the mean time I am using my phone.. I mean the quality is pretty good and all but it’s definately not the same ! I feel like I am cheating by taking photos with a phone, silly I know , but that’s how it feels!

Now please share with me your opinion on cameras and what would suggest I get?

Love M

33 thoughts on “Cameraless!

  1. Jim says:

    I think trying to decide what camera to buy ends up being a “Ford versus Chevy” or a “American versus Japanese versus German made cars” argument. I would suggest that you Google something like “The best digital camera for intermediate camera users” or “for beginners” or something along those lines.

    I have a Canon digital and have decided to stick to that brand since my growing collection of lenses have Canon mounts. you can go broke buying different lenses if you get caught up in the “I want this lens” bug.

    it really depends on how much you want to budget or spend for a camera.

    Like

      • Jim says:

        you can buy direct from Canon if you want. they have some really good deals on cameras or kits. I would also consider getting a refurbished one from Canon too. Yayayayaya I can already hear the arguments to buy brand new but consider it’s been thru Canon certified repairs, it still has a warranty and you save some bucks too. Amazon has some really good deals too.

        just remember that buying a camera is like buying a laptop in as much as what is new and current now will be replaced in a year or less and will be outdated. it doesn’t mean it’s worthless; I’m just saying it will quickly depreciate in value over time. my Canon XS runs great but it has no resell or trade-in value.

        one place people rarely look for a camera is in pawn shops. you may be able to get a really great deal on prices but buyer beware what you buy there.

        IMHO it’s important to stick with one brand whether it’s Canon or Nikon or Sigma or whatever. new lenses can be pricey to replace because you switched brands. my next new will be a Canon 7D Mark II but all I need is the body only since I have several lenses that will work on it with no problems and I don’t have to go out and buy all new lenses.

        Like

      • thegirlthatdreamsawake says:

        I was looking to buy a second hand one but my husband is the one that says ‘no no no you getting a new one’ not complaining 😁Jim the canon 7d mark II is really what I would love but it is quite pricey so maybe later πŸ™‚ and I don’t have any lenses so not like you I would have to spend a small fortune 😳

        Like

  2. perpetualadmin says:

    Occasionally, I make sketches for YouTube, and after using my phone for one shoot, I definitely feel you on this sentiment- there’s nothing quite like a real camera πŸ™‚

    That being said, I do wish I had more experience with them to offer some expertise- but alas, I lack it and can only wish you luck from here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

